Back to Callahan's Tuxedo, Alterations & Gown Preservation

Callahan's Tuxedo, Alterations & Gown Preservation Reviews

12 reviews
| St. Louis, MO See photos, pricing and details
Request pricing
4.9 out of 5.0

Awards

12 Reviews for Callahan's Tuxedo, Alterations & Gown Preservation

T
Featured
Tara

Married on 06/04/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I have never been more pleased with ANY COMPANY! They are so professional, kind, and make you feel so special. They remember small details about your day and are the most caring vendors I have ever worked with. I will continue to brag about them to anyone and everyone. Thank you both for all your hard work! He spent hours cleaning the weeds ( farm wedding) out of my big dress and she sewed my dads ( Who passed away) patch inside my wedding dress. They are so detailed and do not cut corners with anything.

Callahan's Tuxedo, Alterations & Gown Preservation's reply:

it was our pleasure to work with you, best wishes

Lady H
Stephanie

Married on 10/10/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Callahan's was the perfect choice for us. If you do a package of so many groomsmen, ushers, father of the bride/groom then you get the groom's tux for free. Thank the lord for small favors because every little penny counts. The men in the wedding didn't pay too much either, I believe each tux was about $134 a piece which is the lower we could find. My husband really want the shawl tux and they were able to give him exactly what he wanted. He was a little annoyed about the vest being too short but he should have been more vocal about that in the fittings but he let the guy talk him into the slight shorter vest.

S
Sarah

Married on 09/06/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Callahan's provided amazing service for dress alterations and preservation. They are reasonably priced, easy to work with, and my dress looked better than I could have imagined after Ruth was done with it. I highly recommend choosing Callahan's!

H
Hannah

Married on 08/01/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I went to Callahan's to have my wedding dress preserved. I wanted the best in gown preservation for my dress, and that is what I got out of Callahan's. They were polite and had unparalleled customer service. When I picked my dress up it was absolutely gorgeous. Not only did they get all the stains out (and there were plenty), they had it preserved beautifully in a white box.

Callahan's Tuxedo, Alterations & Gown Preservation's reply:

thank you for your kind words, we do take a lot of pride in the quality of work we do. thank you for your business

M
Mallory

Married on 06/06/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I used Callahans for my gown preservation. They had great customer service and my gown looks gorgeous! They really take pride in their work.

M
Meghan

Married on 05/30/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

THE MOST AMAZING ALTERATIONS! My dress was absolutely perfect for me. Ruth re-built and re-designed it. She had to fix the all the seams in the font and the back, hem it, change the bust, add the belt.. AND she created the most unique bubble bustle... AND added 100+ silk buttons all the way down the back. Fit like a glove. I could not have imagined anything better. THANK YOU!

C
Caitlin

Married on 04/25/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Great quality and nice people! I highly recommend :)

User4787805

2+ years ago

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We used Callahan's Tuxedo to dress our wedding party for our wedding. The tuxedo's fit the guys great, pants hemmed perfect, everyone's sleeves were the right length and the tie color matched the girls dresses. We worked with the owners Ruth and Rick and they made the whole experience very easy. We did shop the mall and found Callahan's prices lower and the service was excellent. They even picked up the tuxedo's from the hotel were the wedding party was staying, great service that was free.
Ruth even pressed my wedding gown and veil before the wedding.

M
Matthew

Married on 08/24/2013

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Ruth is an amazing woman, and very professional. We took my Maid of Honor dress to her, it had to be taken in, and we didn't need it back until August 01, 2013. Ruth had it done and returned to us by July 2nd, we took it to Ruth on June 14th. She is amazing, and I highly recommend Callahan's Tuxedo and Alterations to everyone, they're the best, and their prices are very reasonable. The entire staff is polite and very professional! We love them! We will use them again and again! Great experience!

H
Hannah

Married on 09/19/2015

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I had a great experience with Ruth at Callahan's! Decided to go with her for my gown alterations. I didn't need anything too major, just a hem (with many many layers of fabric) and some satin edging to add a little comfort around the lace arm holes (sleeveless dress).

Ruth's work is lovely, and very reasonably priced. This is a no frills, down to business sort of experience -- think of a mom and pop shop. Tiny little front room, 3 dressing room stalls with basic (arguably too small) privacy curtains, and a little toasty on a warm day. But the service is great, and the work is gorgeous. For what you need in an alterations place, this is a great option! Just don't expect any frills. Ruth finished my dress in the agreed-upon time frame, and added an extra fitting in the middle to make sure it was just exactly right -- much appreciated by me, the perfectionist!

K
Katie

Married on 12/06/2014

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I took my wedding dress to Ruth to have it hemmed, bustled, and taken in a tiny bit. She did an excellent job, and she is a very friendly lady!

Athena
Athena

Married on 10/15/2016

4.2
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I was recommended by Clarice's to get my alterations at Ruth's. Ruth is so sweet and their shop is adorable. Ruth was flexible and willing to work with me knowing I was moving to another state. I was really pleased with my first and second meeting with her. At my final fitting, granted I take the blame for not speaking up, but I noticed there were loose thread on my dress and the edges were not trimmed straight. There were giant pieces that were jagged and when I pointed it out I felt that I was being told I was crazy. I went home to look at the dress and saw there were spots and was in a massive panic mode. I give Ruth A LOT of credit for handling it professionally when I called her back and she asked me to bring it down to fix. She remembered that I lived in Saint Charles was really apologetic to fixing it and even gave me gas money to go home. In the end, the dress wasn't perfectly straight maybe tulle is hard to cut? I felt a misinformed on the pricing because my original quote to final bill was about $150 more. Again, I take the blame for not asking more questions but I wish there was more transparency! Wedding planning is hard enough, the last thing I wanted to have to worry about is whether someone was duping me. All in all, Ruth is sweet, adorable, kind and does her job, it just seems there were some major and minor details that were missed.

Request pricing
Go to top