Back to Chez Josef

Chez Josef Reviews

23 reviews
| Springfield, MA See photos, pricing and details
Request pricing
4.5 out of 5.0

Photos from reviews

Awards

23 Reviews for Chez Josef

R
Featured
Renee

Married on 06/09/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Had our anniversary party at Chez Josef 2 weeks ago, after having our wedding reception in the Tivoli Room 24 years ago. The venue was beautiful, and the services were top notch. Marc, Regina and the entire Chez Josef team were friendly, helpful, efficient, and there was never a "no" involved. Amazing customer service, they answered all questions and fulfilled all wishes without a blink of an eye. The team treated the guests like they were family, and from bartenders, wait staff, event coordinators, and kitchen staff, everyone did a fantastic job. We couldn't be happier. Our wedding reception was wonderful all those years ago, and this experience could not have been better, but somehow it was (maybe it's because anniversary parties are way less stressful!). Huge thanks to Marc and his team, I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who wants wonderful service, great value and a great experience!

S
Sham

Married on 09/01/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I enjoyed the food and the hall/decorations was perfect.
Great people/services... Kudos to Marc, Rachel, Chef, Deb and the rest of the team

S
Shaaban

Married on 09/01/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

very organized

Very organize and supportive. They did their best to make our day special. All the stuff was very helpful and very good in listening to new ideas.

Barbara
Barbara

Married on 06/30/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Regina and Mark took care of everything. I didn’t have to worry and they were right. Best day of my life!

Y
Yaa

Married on 06/29/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

My Guests thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. There was not a single complaint or negative feedback. I was very pleased with the presentation or the meals and the quality as well as the quantity. Very pleased with everything.

S
Stephanie & Rob

Married on 05/26/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The perfect VENUE

I had my high school prom at this place and I knew I wanted to get married here. It is so beautiful, elegant and they do so much here. They took my vision and turned it into a reality. Marc added so many wonderful detail that I did not think of. The day of my even went off with out any issues and I was able to enjoy my day to the fullest.

K
Kevin

Married on 04/19/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Mark, Haley, the wait staff, kitchen staff and bartenders were all amazing throughout the entire process start to finish. The evening of the wedding was flawless, your team nailed it. Everything we wanted in the venue was perfect. We had certain requests that were respected and honored, such as the missing soldiers table that had to be as perfectly put together as the entire event. We requested a small area for kids to play, but could be seen by the parents, this was also amazingly put together. Our families and friends were in awe of how beautiful the location was. The transition from the wedding portion to the dinning room was not even noticed by the guests, the curtain opened and the room had transitioned into a beautiful, elegant dinning area. We highly recommend Chez Josef of Agawam, Ma. As a wedding location.
Respectfully and Humbled,
Kevin & Shannon R.

J
James

Married on 06/17/2017

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Our wedding reception at Chez Joseph could not have been more perfect! From the early stages of planning to the final goodbye, Marc and the entire staff were beyond amazing. Their professionalism and passion made preparing for such a special night as stress-free and magical as it should be. We also had some non traditional requests involving the flow of the reception and they far exceeded our expectations without missing a beat.
The banquet facilities are stunning and the food and drinks are second to none... At a value that far surpassed other high end venues we looked into. Make sure a tour of Chez Josef is at the top of your list! - Ariel & James

F
Floyd

Married on 11/19/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I love this place.. The people are phenomenal and the food is always great. The guy who runs the place Mr. Mark Sparks was so accomodating. He and his staff went out of their way to make us as comfortable as we could be. I can't say enough great things about Chez Josef. I have utilized their services on many occasions and have always left totally satisfied. I give them 2 big thumbs up. Try them, Ill bet you'll agree with me.

E
Erik

Married on 05/24/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Chez Josef was awesome! Beautiful set up at venue, great helpful staff, and comments from guests were "Best food I ever had at a wedding! " We had a tropical theme wedding and these guys provided us with a whole suckling pig! It was a pleasure doing business with Chez, Mark Sparks and his staff did an amazing job!

C
Cristal

Married on 08/23/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Chez Josef was an absolutely beautiful venue to have a wedding! I immediately fell in love as soon as I walked in! The staff were great and very understanding with the stress of wedding planning! I couldn't have asked for a better venue to have had our beautiful day celebrated!

P
Pamela

Married on 05/30/2009

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Chez Josef was fantastic. My husband and I were amazed with the amount of work put into our wedding. Linda coordinated the whole wedding, from the outdoor ceremony, to helping us with the food and cake. The food was outstanding! The attention to detail was amazing. As a bride, everything was taken care of so I wouldn't have to worry. Overall, an amazing place to get married and have the reception!

B
Brenda

Married on 06/23/2018

4.9
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The service was very personable. The staff was very attentive. They made sure my dream wedding was everything I wanted it to be. The food was delicious.

S
Stacy

Married on 08/24/2012

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.5
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.5

The food was amazing! People kept coming up to me ranting and raving on how good the food was. We have been to many weddings and a lot of food is cold and dried out. But no complaints here, the staff kept bringing food out and very courteous as well. I cannot Thank Chez Josef enough for what they did! My day was PERFECT!

D
Darcia

Married on 08/04/2018

4.6
  • Quality of service 3.5
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.5

A little slow getting the food out. Awesome food! Very attentive to the bride and groom.

C
Cynthia

Married on 09/18/2015

4.5
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Responsiveness 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.5

Planning my ceremony and reception here. The venue is beautiful and the staff are pleasant and accomadating

S
Shomaria

Married on 06/23/2018

4.2
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 3.5
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 2.5
  • Flexibility 5.0

Chez josef staff was very accommodating with our request on the wedding day. Haley and Regina were the two that we mainly worked with and they both made our experience very pleasurable on the days leading to the wedding. I can say that some days it was very hard to get in touch with management for certain questions that others can not have answered. We couldn’t get answers on small things like table runners,chairs cover etc. It always went thru one person who was In management and was very hard to get in touch with. Other than communication with management we had a a great night. Again I will say Regina and Haley were great. They made sure everything was smooth and they were within arms length the entire ceremony and wedding making sure we had a great night. The staff made sure everyone who had allergies were properly taken care of and made sure that my husband and I were comfortable. I would recommend chez josef to others but hopefully it’s easier to communicate with management in the future.

User5610649

2+ years ago

3.8
  • Quality of service 3.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 3.0
  • Flexibility 4.0

We loved the Tivoli room at Chez Josef. The tinted windows gave our afternoon reception just the right lighting! The food was absolutely delicious and so many people commented about it. The value was the best we found in the area and we were able to have as much flexibility in our choices as we wanted. Internal communication at Chez Josef did not seem to be a strength, and some of the details that we discussed in meetings fell through the cracks and were not realized. The team at Chez Josef was friendly, professional, and receptive to our feedback to help improve the process for other couples. We were happy to find a location that could accommodate a large range of wedding sizes at an affordable price.

J
Laurie

Married on 06/13/2009

3.6
  • Quality of service 3.0
  • Value 4.5
  • Professionalism 3.5
  • Responsiveness 3.0
  • Flexibility 4.0

Food was good, the place looked great. I had some issues getting in touch with people in the beginning after we booked. Our dining room manager, Marc Sparks, was great.

L
Lori

Married on 10/27/2007

3.2
  • Quality of service 2.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 3.0

Chez Joseph is a banquet facility with a stellar reputation. The put the whole event together with no stress but it would have been nice to have more meetings with them through the process. I think bc they are in the business and they do weddings all the time they assume that they had things down but for us we were nervous and would have benefitted from more meetings in advance. Our meeting to go over all of the details was a week before at which time we made a lot of changes which was stressful a week before the wedding. Additionally, at our wedding there were little details that were very disorganized and mistakes made proving that more meetings would have been beneficial. I think the problem was that there were multiple weddings on the same night and attention to certain details were lacking. All in all, the day was great, the place was beautiful, the food was exceptional and we had an absolutely beautiful wedding. I am sure that noone but us noticed the little things that went wrong but we did. All in all our day was beautiful so I recomend them but I would demand a meeting to go over all of the details prior to the week before in case you want to change things and make sure that there are not a lot of other functions at the same time! All in all, they did so much right and the day was beautiful!

Isabel
Isabel

Married on 07/20/2019

3.0
  • Quality of service 3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 2.0
  • Flexibility 3.0

Hot hot hot

I want to leave a better review than this one... I really really do. However, I can't, and here's why...

Let me begin by saying that I've been to Chez Josef many times throughout my life. So when we began looking at venues, Chez Josef was on our list. We found it difficult to find a venue at first because our guest count was originally 400 people, and we needed a venue that could accommodate such a large group for our wedding. Chez Josef met our needs, and we decided to book them compared to a venue in CT, about 40 minutes away, for convenience. I originally booked when Haley worked there, and she was beyond helpful and accommodating. Then Haley left the business and Marc (the owner) took over our event. Marc was a pleasure to work with and very kind, but difficult to reach. We were told that we'd be contacted as the event got closer to book other appointments such as tastings, cake selections, and detail meetings, and for every single thing, I had to call and chase the staff to make appointments. If it wasn't for the fact that I know Regina personally and contacted her, I'm not sure that I would've had these promised meetings.

Come the day of the wedding (July 20, 2019), we were in the Anita room, on the hottest day in a century. It was literally over 100 degrees out. The AC was broken in our room. The other events in the two other rooms were a birthday party and a graduation party, and they were also significantly smaller in size. We weren't notified of the issue until after we got there, and it was blamed on the number of guests (was down to 190). We had plenty of space. There was NO air flow. No fans set up until one of the guests brought it up, and that occurred around 10pm. We were told that they "checked the AC" guages on the roof, and that they were working, yet, when we went into the Allen room, it was icy cold with AC. Multiple guests had to leave, two (that I know of) literally got heat stroke, people had to use the bridal suite room and bathroom cuz it had AC.

Heat aside, the servers, the bartenders, and the food were EXCEPTIONAL. The venue looked beautiful, and the cake was amazing. However, the AC should've been turned on hours before the event, it didn't break while we were there, and I wish I was notified about the issue as a heads up. They compromised us with free bottles of wine to take home, which is nice, but we're not drinkers, so my parents just took it. For us being the largest, and arguably the most important, and most expensive event occuring, we should've been offered the chance to move to a new location, or to have one of the other parties moved to a new location with their catering, and free transportation to the new site for guests. It was more than hot, and our health (and the staff's health) was not considered. I know things happen, but as someone who comes from a family of business owners, this was unacceptable. We weren't notified AT ALL, and no effort was shown to improve it. I understand that things break and that things happen, but this wasn't handled properly. I'm addition, although renovations were done within the last 5 or so years, it is outdated in both Allen and Anita rooms and could use updates.

I don't want to turn you away from Chez Josef as there are other positive components to working with them, but because of the way this was handled, we were missing some of our most important guests (including one of my bridesmaids) and I will be hesitant to work with them in the future.

That being said, thank you to our bartenders, kitchen staff, and servers for your outstanding work despite the conditions. I'd be happy to have Chez Josef cater future events.

Ashley
Ashley Pond

Married on 06/22/2019

3.0
  • Quality of service 3.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Professionalism 3.0
  • Responsiveness 3.0
  • Flexibility 3.0

Lack of communication

The venue was beautiful and the food was good, but it was pricey and trying to get the ball rolling with the manager was awful. He wouldn't answer calls or emails and gave you the run around - the only time he would talk to you was for money.

M
Melissa

Married on 06/28/2014

2.7
  • Quality of service 2.5
  • Value 2.5
  • Professionalism 2.5
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 2.0

They were absolutely fantastic when we first went to view the venue. They appeared to be very flexible, but definitely fell short. The sales office staff are great. The dining room manager we had was terrible. I am pretty sure I saw him twice during the wedding. Most of the wedding was wrong, and they did not provide everything we paid for. They put the wrong cake out, the tables were not correct. Everything was very late, the ceremony was minutes late because they lost the flowers for the flower girl. Dinner was 1. 5 hours late. This venue was gorgeous, but the overall wedding was not the best because the dinning room manager did not do what he was supposed to do. The garden was perfect, the florist set this area up though!

Request pricing
Go to top