Back to Garfrerick's Cafe

Garfrerick's Cafe Reviews

16 reviews
| Birmingham, AL See photos, pricing and details
Request pricing
5.0 out of 5.0

Awards

16 Reviews for Garfrerick's Cafe

Katrina
Katrina

Married on 06/25/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

My husband, myself, and both of our families would give Garfrerick's a complete 10/10! They were absolutely wonderful from start to finish, and provided us with a super unique, very fresh selection of appetizers, entrees, desserts, and drinks! (Did I mention FRESH? And DEFINITELY the best value we found, by far). We had several key guests who were Gluten Free, and each of our meals were made GF so that our guests could enjoy their first choice! Additionally, our cake was DELICIOUS! They made us one naked cake (with gluten) and a special gluten-free naked cake as well. Our signature drink - blackberry mint julep - was a HUGE hit, and our guests complimented how delicious the food was the whole night! Many even said it was the best food at a wedding they had ever had! :) In addition to the delicious, fresh, healthful, and yummy food and drink options, Dave is awesome! He's extremely thoughtful, and someone we will recommend to all of our friends and family! Likewise, the servers were AWESOME! They were positive, fun to be around, fast and responsive, and even joined us on the dance floor after dinner for a little while when we invited them to!

If you're looking for a sign to book Garfrerick's, THIS IS IT! You will not be disappointed!

B
Brittani

Married on 06/04/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I contacted Suzen at Garfrericks about wedding catering on a busy Friday afternoon. I was pleasantly surprised that she took the time to answer all of my questions then and there, which took about an hour! She even stated that she had a meeting to attend shortly, but made sure she had my tasting scheduled before ending our call.

I was in contact with her in the months between this call and my tasting regarding my desired menu. When we got there, we were thrilled to be served by Chef Dave himself. Furthermore, he had gone to the trouble of creating and preparing specially requested dishes not on the menu for us to taste on a Saturday night! Everything that we tried was absolutely divine. The chicken and beef were both tender, and both the mashed potatoes and diced potatoes were out of this world. The asparagus was delicious as well! It was clear Garfrericks would be catering our wedding - the only question was how to narrow it down to only a couple of the delicious options available!

Overall, I was so pleased with the service both during our dining experience and during our wedding. Everyone raved about the food at our wedding. My husband and I both agreed our only regret was not getting a doggy bag to take after the wedding because the food was so amazing! I will also add that Chef Dave was fantastic at accommodating food allergies and special diets at our wedding, making special plates for those individuals at no extra charge. I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone considering Garfrericks for dinner or for catering!

S
Steve

Married on 05/07/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Garfrerick's catered the reception for my daughter's wedding. From the initial tasting to the actual event, Chef Dave and his staff were excellent. They worked with us to ensure every aspect of the reception was tailored to our needs. The food and the service from the staff were outstanding. I can not think of one thing I would change. I've had friends that attended the reception ask for directions to the restaurant. If you are considering having an event, you and your guests will be missing out if you don't take advantage of this jewel of a place.

L
Lisa

Married on 04/30/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The food for our daughter's wedding was absolutely delicious! Their concept is farm to table and that is what they delivered. Chef Dave was very accommodating and was more than willing to do extra special things to enhance our dining experience. We would highly recommend Garfrerick's Cafe and Catering to anyone for their catering needs.

J
Julie

Married on 06/19/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

If you are looking for a wonderful place for your wedding rehearsal dinner in Anniston/Oxford, AL, this is it! The banquet room is very nice - the food was great! Suzen Robertson and Chef Dave worked with us to make sure everything was just the way we wanted - could not have asked for a better evening! Thank you Garfrerick's!

P
Paula

Married on 05/30/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Garfrericks Café provided a fantastic meal for my wedding. They were easy to work with in creating my unique menu for my special day. We eat at their restaurant frequently and having our wedding reception dinner there was an easy decision.

C
Caitlin

Married on 05/29/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The food for my rehearsal dinner was wonderful! The staff/servers that came out were very friendly and extremely helpful! Everything was great!

R
Robin

Married on 12/28/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Great food! And wonderful working with Chef Dave and his Staff.

J
Judy

Married on 11/08/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Dave, Susan, Rachael and the rest of the staff were AMAZING! Everyone Loved them and the food was excellent! Thanks so much for being part of our evening...

J
Jazmine

Married on 06/21/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Garfrerick's Cafe was the perfect choice for our wedding. We wanted breakfast for dinner as our theme, and they did not disappoint! They came up with a menu and were so flexible when we changed parts of it. Their menu was kept at our requested price point. The food was delicious!

K
Kelly

Married on 03/29/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We could not have asked for a better experience! The response from our guests on the quality of the meal and the attention provided by the staff was overwhelming.

T
Tanya

Married on 06/29/2013

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I am gluten intolerant and it is very difficult to find a vendor that could accommodate my allergies. Garfrerick's cooks their food 90 % gluten free anyway! All of my guests have raved about how delicious the food was. I love this restaurant and I highly recommend it to everyone!

User5488092

2+ years ago

4.9
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.5

Garfrerick's catered our daughter wedding reception. Our contacts with Suzen Robertson and Chef, Dave. The food was amazing and guests raved about the delicious menu. Dave and Suzen worked with us to provide the perfect menu for a farm setting. The farm to table format was perfect. The menu included fresh grilled vegetables, grilled chicken, venison and mushroom grits. It was awesome that Dave cooks on site and that this upscale restaurant can provide everything from yummy food to cake service to bar services. I was pleased that we could provide our guests quality food & not just frozen and fried, unhealthy options! Suzen Robertson was easy to work and we had our menu finalized and pricing set before other caterers had even returned phone calls.
I would definitely recommend them to others. The quality of everything far exceeded typical expectations for wedding receptions.

User4211420

2+ years ago

4.9
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.5
  • Flexibility 5.0

We used Garfrerick's Cafe for our rehearsal dinner and for our wedding reception catering. The staff is so professional and goes above and beyond to ensure the needs of each guest are met. We used their side room for the rehearsal dinner and they set it us very nicely. Chef Dave even cooked our beef option on site for our wedding day! We used their bartender service as well for the wedding and that was extremely helpful. They kept the tab, brought everything, set up, and cleaned up! I could not have been more impressed. A++!

User4650074

2+ years ago

4.9
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.5
  • Flexibility 5.0

Chef Dave created the perfect menu for my daughter's wedding. He listened to her requests and cooked a meal that guests still talk about. More than one guest told me "it was the best wedding food ever"

A
Anna

Married on 11/01/2014

4.6
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Responsiveness 3.5
  • Flexibility 5.0

Garfrerick’s Café catered the reception dinner and provided bar service for our wedding. The food was delicious! Everything is based on a farm-to-table concept and Chef Dave uses only items currently in season to construct a menu. They were flexible with us when we created the menu, letting us change some side dishes and ingredients. They wanted us to truly enjoy the food and were willing to accommodate us in any way possible.

The bar service was also fantastic. We served two specialty cocktails, which we had the option to be creative. Chef Dave was willing to concoct something unique just for us, instead of making us choose from a predetermined bar menu. They also served a selection of beers (including local brews) and even went out of their way to serve the brand I requested (but they weren’t yet serving in their restaurant). The bartender was quick and friendly and even willing to move the location of the bar between cocktail hour and reception.

We did have some trouble contacting the event coordinator during the planning process. Although she was always courteous, it often took a long time to receive a reply and we sometimes had to ask the same question multiple times before getting an answer. Twice we had an issue with our contract; on both occasions the price increased significantly. However, they were apologetic and were willing to work with us to come to a resolution. There was also a small mix-up on the day of the wedding, but it was quickly remedied before the event (and without my knowledge).

I would recommend Garfrerick’s Café to anyone looking for a good caterer—the food was delicious and the service was great!

Request pricing
Go to top