Back to Northampton House

Northampton House Reviews

21 reviews
| Salt Lake City, UT See photos, pricing and details
Request pricing
4.4 out of 5.0

Awards

21 Reviews for Northampton House

P
Paul and Shauna

Married on 03/24/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We held our son's wedding luncheon at the NHH and the service, food, price and staff were fantastic. One of our guests that travel extensively mentioned that of all the Chicken Picatte' he has ever eaten he has never tasted such a delicious and favorable dinner. Whatever you are doing, keep it up because it is wonderful.

K
Kimberly

Married on 05/18/2017

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

From beginning to end it was an absolute pleasure working with Laura. The only sad thing, it came and went to fast! Everyone was so pleased with everything! I spoke with the bride and groom yesterday from returning from their honeymoon and they said it was their Dream Come True. They LOVE the Northampton House and have already suggested to several friends they need to use it for their wedding. As a mother dealing with so many emotions it was nice not to have to worry about anything. Everything was handled beautifully and NO Stress! The food was AMAZING several people wanted the recipe for the chicken salad. The salad was delightful and who can wrong with brownies. Everyone attending couldn't get over how beautiful the venue was and how much FUN it was! It was a success in every way! Thank you again for everything you have done to make this such an amazing event, full of everlasting beautiful memories!

D
David

Married on 09/22/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We had an outdoor wedding planned for our daughter, but at the last minute the weather did not cooperate. The day before the wedding we frantically searched for an indoor venue and were relieved to find that the Northampton House had an opening (perhaps a benefit of having a weekday wedding). Laura, the hostess/manager was a delight to work with and very accommodating. Everything was prepared and ready when we arrived. The room was beautiful, and we could have opted to simply set up our gift and registration tables, and it would have been fine. We had a lot of decorations planned for the outdoor reception and decided to simply move them to the Northampton House. They had no issues with us transforming the room, and it came off beautifully. We already had food and entertainment arranged, so we did not need these services from Northampton House.
The only recommendation I have is that if you bring in a lot of your own decorations (again, the room is great without it), make certain to have a designated crew to take remove your items following the event. They allot 30 minutes for your clean-up (by "clean-up" I simply mean for removing your belongings--the Northampton House staff will clean the venue itself), which might not be enough time. We ran a little over, but Laura was great about it.

M
Mckell

Married on 06/25/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I was so happy that I had my luncheon at North Hampton House! It is so beautiful in the summer. They do an amazing job with their garden. The flowers were gorgeous, and colorful. They made my food exactly as I wanted! I custom made everything and they did everything how I wanted it. I didn't use their usual menu, I asked them to make sliders and fries, and for dessert I wanted gelato. It was so perfect!

J
Joyce

Married on 05/03/2013

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Northampton provided all the service and attention we needed during our dinner and reception. It seemed the guests were complimenting us about the beautiful venue all evening. I personally enjoyed the dinner. Their chef went overboard to make sure everything was just perfect. Thanks for making our busy day enjoyable and stress-free.

F
Faith

Married on 05/02/2013

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Northampton House is a fantastically beautiful vintage building. I had both my reception and my luncheon there. Both were fantastic and successful events. I loved working with the staff there. They were easy to work with as I planned my flowers, food, and event details. The food was fantastic. The chef there can really make some delicious food. They also can provide a fun Italian soda bar. It was delicious and added to the Italian feel of the Courtyard room with the flower garden attached. I would highly recommend having an event at Northampton House!

S
Heather

Married on 08/27/2009

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

It was where I'd always dreamed of having my luncheon. The food was delicious, the people so nice, and it was decorated beautifully.

K
Kimberly

Married on 09/04/2007

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Very elegant atmosphere, easy to work with, great food!

A
Amy

Married on 08/09/2007

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The Northampton House was AMAZING! It is an absolutely beautiful place to have a reception. They have two rooms to choose from. We went there a couple months in advance to plan, and we got it all done in one afternoon! They are so easy to work with and offer a variety of services. They worked with us on all of our requests and accommodated whatever we wanted to do. The food was incredibly yummy and the atmosphere was so romantic. The room we used had an old Italian vineyard feel to it, very beautiful! Plus it had an outside area for our guests to go to if they didn't want to stay inside. I loved everything about having my reception at the Northampton House! My brother and his wife had their reception there too and they also had a great experience.

User7111085

2+ years ago

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

It was an amazing place to have my perfect day! The host was very hospitable and very accommodating! It was stress free! The scenery was beautiful! The only issues were there was a couple issues when the music started for our recessional and the first dance but other than that everything went very smoothly!

H
Hillary

Married on 05/31/2008

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Northampton house was so awesome! They do in house catering, flowers, and the cake so you don't have to worry about outsourcing all of those things. They were super nice and always got back to me quickly when I had questions. The building is beautiful inside and already decorated with greenery and lights so you don't have to worry about decorating. The in house florist is great and did all of our flowers for a really great price and threw in some extra stuff for free just to be nice. I would definitely recommend Northampton to anyone who wants an easy less stress wedding!

B
Bridget

Married on 12/28/2007

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I absolutely loved working with the people at the Northampton House. They had delicious food, beautiful decorations, flowers, and helped me with ordering my invitations. There were many other services available through them that I chose not to use because I found them elsewhere, but I would definatly recommend having your wedding/celebration here.

F
Bethany

Married on 02/09/2007

4.7
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.5
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.0

They were amazing! It was so easy to schedule what we wanted for our luncheon and we didn't have to worry about anything because they took care of it all. They're also great with food allergies and sensitivities. Myself and a wedding luncheon guest can not have gluten. The chef whipped up something special for us that was delicious!

They also called the week before the event to double check everything and find out if there were any more details I was wanting (media equipment for a wedding video, microphone, etc). Everything looked beautiful! It's a beautiful venue for a luncheon, ceremony, and/or reception!

Tip: If you have a Utah Weddings card, be sure to show it because you'll receive a discount.

C
Cheryl

Married on 04/23/2005

4.7
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 3.5
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Excellent! Everyone still talks about how great it was! They were very willing to get whatever we had imagined!

E
Elisabeth

Married on 04/28/2007

4.6
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.5

Northampton House is great. They offer some wonderful packages for doing flowers (the florist is really good), their food is great, the location is beautiful, and they offer 30% off invitations. They were one vendor that made the night much less stressful!

A
Ashley

Married on 08/18/2007

4.1
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 3.5
  • Flexibility 5.0

This was a little bit of a splurge for us, but it was beautiful and cheaper than many other places around. They went through everything detail by detail with me. I got to choose what food went on the table (no preset meals), what flowers went as centerpieces, where everything sat in the room (I had some extra displays I wanted) etc. They were HIGHLY accommodating. The only problems I ran in to is that the food for 150 people lasted through about 70, which was really disappointing, seeing as I had spent a lot on it. Also, they didn't let me know that burnt cd's don't play in their player, so my dancing portion of the night had no music. They were going to update the system soon they said, so maybe that is better now.

M
Christine

Married on 08/11/2006

4.1
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 3.0

We had our wedding luncheon at the Northampton House. It is a beautiful building and very easy to find. They had all of the tables set up just as we had requested and they also provided floral arrangements for each table. We had a buffet of whole roasted chickens, mashed potatoes, steamed vegetables, and rolls. The food was delicious! For dessert we had a chocolate pie and a banana creme pie. (They also offered other options at an additional cost. ) They also served pink lemonade and water.

The only negative occurrence was that another group was scheduled right after ours and we were rushed a bit as we were leaving so that they would have time to clean up and re-set everything. Other than that, they were wonderful and really provided everything we wanted. We even came back to them a few months ago for a large 80th birthday party for our Grandma!

User4939959

2+ years ago

3.6
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Value 3.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 2.0

There were some hidden fees with Northampton House that I didn't find out about until after I'd put down the down payment. They also require use of their caterer for any meals you have. But the location is beautiful, the staff is great to work with, and the space is incredible.

J
jaci

Married on 04/26/2008

3.6
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Value 2.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Responsiveness 3.5
  • Flexibility 3.0

The wedding planners are great! And they have so much to choose from! I had a celebrity wedding

B
Eva

Married on 03/15/2008

2.5
  • Quality of service 3.0
  • Value 2.5
  • Professionalism 2.0
  • Responsiveness 2.0
  • Flexibility 3.0

The reception hall is beautifully decorated in and of itself, that's exactly why we chose it after we saw a friend getting married there. Also the booking fee was in our price range. After the initial meeting we were 'passed on' to a different coordinator who informed us that the hall couldn't be arranged how we originally wanted it. As we had both our ring exchange ceremony and our reception there, it was important that the musical transition would go smoothly after the exchange. It was practiced several times, yet it was a huge mess-up. Despite the wedding organizer we felt like we 'ran the show', from the rehearsal organization, to making sure the bouquets were with the bride and bridesmaids, then calling for the garter and bouquet throws. The worst was that after cutting the cake we had to ask TWICE for more cake to be brought out because most of the guests still not receive any as the reception drew to a close. At your wedding you shouldn't be stressed about this. This is what you pay them for. And since Northampton House requires you to pay the full amount two weeks before the event, you can't even get it back.
We only mention it as a side note, but sadly, several people of the wedding party and many guests have spent the weekend and beginning of the next week suffering the effects of food poisoning. Although we cannot say they were effected by the catered food at the reception, at no other time did they eat all together.
After all this I have to say the bouquets were stunning and so was the cake. Those two were the highlights of my wedding done by the Northhampton House, for which I am grateful. Those are the things I will remember.

G
Tanja

Married on 03/14/2009

1.7
  • Quality of service 2.5
  • Value 1.5
  • Professionalism 2.0
  • Responsiveness 1.0
  • Flexibility 1.5

If you have ever attended a reception at Northampton, you know that it is beautiful, and I will say that most of the guests leave very pleased. Actually being the bride and trying to work with them is much more difficult. They are extremely slow in getting back to you and everything is overpriced. For example, you lock yourself in to buying flowers with them. At first this seems fine until you are actually meeting with the florist and choosing flowers and you realize they charge twice as much as every normal flower vendor, so you are forced to pay double the cost. It is one of the many ways they nickel and dime you. After dinner we wanted everyone to stay, but the staff was very obviously in a huge hurry to clear people out and go home, even though the room was reserved until 10. They started clearing tables of glasses, tablecloths, etc while people were still at the tables lounging and socializing. This sent the signal that people should start leaving even though they wouldn't have otherwise. The same goes with the music. I had to ask several times before they would turn it on, so everything went dead while waiting for it. They had promised to have a guest book there for people to sign, but there was no sign of it on the wedding day. Overall, I had a horrible experience with them and could go on and on about all the annoyances. Before booking with them I read a lot of reviews on different sites praising how pretty receptions at Northampton look but I realized that a lot of those reviews were coming from wedding guests and not the person who actually worked with them and had their wedding there. Everything looked pretty at my dinner/reception (but considering the amount you pay, you could hardly expect otherwise), but they were a huge pain to work with and I would absolutely not recommend them. Spend your money elsewhere.

Request pricing
Go to top