Back to Quirk Hotel

Quirk Hotel Reviews

9 reviews
| Richmond, VA See photos, pricing and details
Request pricing
4.1 out of 5.0

Photos from reviews

Awards

9 Reviews for Quirk Hotel

C
Featured
Caroline

Married on 06/25/2017

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

As a wedding planner myself, I can't tell you how nice it was to have the aesthetics of my dreams come to life at Quirk! It's just a beautiful building, both inside and out! The food was delicious and the service was accommodating. I had 4 of my wedding parties there, actually! Truly a luxury boutique experience!

J
Jennifer Wahlberg

Married on 12/27/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Wahlberg Wedding

Melissa was incredibly detailed oriented from the moment we first spoke. She was consistent in her follow up and helped me find vendors to give us the wedding of our dreams. I can’t say enough good things about her making it a memorable day, the perfect intimate wedding for our family and friends. Topping it off with a relaxing stay at the hotel with amazing service. And.... She did all of this with about 3 weeks to pull it all off so I was very impressed. Thank you,
Jennifer and Chris

K
Kathleen

Married on 07/28/2018

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The most beautiful place for our most beautiful day! Melissa and the staff worked extremely hard to make our day perfect, and I could not be more thrilled with how everything turned out. Our guests raved about how fun and different it was... Exactly what I wanted. This is NOT a country club wedding! Thank you SO, SO much!

Quirk Hotel's reply:

Thank you so much Kathleen for you kind words. Working with both of you was a dream and thank you for choosing Quirk Hotel to make your dreams come true!

M
Melissa

Married on 09/03/2017

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The team at the Quirk was amazing! They had everything absolutely perfect and the rooftop was amazing. Thank you to the entire staff at the hotel, we could not have asked for a better wedding!

M
Mary

Married on 10/28/2017

4.6
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.0

We got our rooftop wedding right under the wire, on the last weekend the roof was open. The weather was great, the view was wonderful, and staff was helpful. The pictures are amazing.

J
Jennifer

Married on 11/05/2016

4.4
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 3.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

This venue blew me away - my guests as well! Very little decor needed, due to the local artwork displayed throughout the hotel. We were given access to couches, love-seats, and other non-traditional seating that truly made a statement and set the tone for our intimate reception. I cannot speak enough on the BEAUTY of this space. I will say, this is not the space for a larger wedding (larger being greater than 100). We had around 50 people, and it was perfect. Though it was closed for the season, we were given access to the rooftop for pictures! Regarding catering and beer/wine - I could not have asked for better. The food was a hit! Seasonal and satisfactory, and guests are still raving about the wine list. Getting in touch is a little difficult, but communication improved once additional help was hired - this is a new venue, has only been around for one year. This venue is a bit of a splurge - but is worth every penny!

A
Alex

Married on 10/21/2017

3.7
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Value 3.5
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 3.0
  • Flexibility 4.0

We had a small wedding of 17 people at the Quirk. The venue itself was beautiful. There is a courtyard where we had our ceremony, a rooftop bar where we did pictures, a mezzanine area where we had cocktails and a private room where we had dinner. They have an amazing in-house restaurant, so additional catering isn't needed! Its a one-stop-shop, perfect for a smaller wedding. There were some errors (some major and some minor) along the way, but the hotel worked to fix them.

Christina
Christina Sullivan

Married on 06/01/2019

2.4
  • Quality of service 1.0
  • Value 2.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 2.0
  • Flexibility 3.0

So disappointed

I've waited for a few weeks to write this review because I wanted to think it over. We were incredibly disappointed with the Quirk for our wedding weekend. We used the Quirk for our primary room block, our bridal suite AND we hosted our rehearsal dinner and welcome drinks with them. All in all, we spent a ton of money at this hotel. And for what we spent and the hotel's reputation as a cute boutique hotel, we expected so much more. At our rehearsal dinner, the first thing we saw when we walked in was our new last name misspelled on all the signage, and the dinner menus read "May 31rd" instead of "May 31st". Sloppy and frustrating, but not a big enough deal for us to say anything. My then fiancé and I arrived a few minutes early but the bartender refused to serve us - the bride and groom - a drink until the exact start time of the event, so we awkwardly stood around waiting for people to arrive. There was only one bartender for our ~75 guests so people had to wait a really long time for drinks. All in all, these were minor complaints but I had still expected a seamless, well-executed event for what we were spending and was not impressed. My real issue came the next day. We had a suite where myself, my matron of honor, mom and flower girl got ready. The room itself was great! We had a great day, had room service delivered which was delicious and had everything we needed (and plenty of natural light) for getting ready and photos. At one point, a hotel staff member stopped by our room to see if we needed anything. I thought that was really nice so I asked her to just make sure that after we left our suite would be cleaned as my new husband and I would be staying in that same suite on our wedding night. Didn't seem like something I had to ask for, but I figured I'd confirm anyway. We left the room, did our first look on the rooftop and got some great photos. We then left to go get married. Coming back the night of our wedding, my husband and I are exhausted and walk into our suite on our wedding night and IT HAS NOT BEEN CLEANED. Dishes from room service are still in the living room, towels from the past day are still on the ground, the bed has not been made nor have the sheets been changed. Housekeeping NEVER CAME TO OUR ROOM and so on the night of our wedding we walked into a dirty hotel room. I was livid. I wanted to address it right then but it was our wedding night and also really late at night so the next morning I called down to the front desk and let them know that our room had not been cleaned and we had no towels. They apologized and brought some up right away. Later on checkout, we let the front desk know how unacceptable this was and they gave us half off our room rate for the night as an apology, which ended up somewhere around $80. Doesn't really do much to fix the fact that our wedding night was spent in an unmade bed and uncleaned room. After spending an exorbitant amount of money with them for the rehearsal dinner, welcome drinks and room block, this level of service was just shocking to me. I thought I could not have been more disappointed with the Quirk until we found out later from guests in our room block that their rooms had ALSO not been cleaned! What sort of hotel (boutique or otherwise) doesn't clean its guest rooms when a guest stays two nights? What sort of hotel doesn't clean a WEDDING SUITE for a bride and groom on the night of their wedding? I'm still - two months later - so incredibly disappointed. The rest of our wedding weekend was absolutely perfect, but if I could do anything differently, we would have taken our room block and rehearsal dinner elsewhere. Our secondary room block at the Marriott was perfect and guests had excellent feedback about the service - I recommend looking there instead. I cannot recommend the Quirk and we will never be back.

Abbey
Abbey

Married on 06/08/2019

1.4
  • Quality of service 2.0
  • Value 1.0
  • Professionalism 1.0
  • Responsiveness 1.0
  • Flexibility 2.0

Wedding Regret

Out of the 20+ vendors I worked with on my wedding, I'm disappointed to say that Quirk was by far the worst I knew from the moment we got engaged that I wanted to host my room block and welcome reception at Quirk because it is a stunning, one-of-a-kind property in the heart of Richmond. Unfortunately, the staff, specifically Melissa Vine, do not reflect the beautiful venue. I would never recommend it to another bride for a room block or an event. Please do not book it.
I began working with Melissa in August of 2018. The moment the contract was signed, Melissa became unresponsive- she would sometimes take a week to get back to me on a single question, often only in response to me sending multiple follow up emails. When I did receive answers from her they were often so convoluted that I had to give up and just call her.
It was Melissa's suggestion for us to do a bar based on consumption for our welcome party on June 7th in the Courtyard (we ended up getting rained out and having it on the Mezzanine). She suggested we have a set amount of our food and beverage minimum allocated towards the bar tab, which was supposed to be sufficient per her recommendation for approx. 50 guests.
The day of the event, during my bridal luncheon (also the day before my wedding) I get an email from Melissa asking me what we were going to do when the tab for the bar runs out, as if she had known it was going to run out all along. How she felt like that was an appropriate time to email me, and why she didn't discuss the possibility of overage with me prior to that is lost on me. We worked together for 10 months, she had so much time to talk this through with me. I had no choice at that point to provide another credit card in case of overage. It was too late to scale back on the amount of food ordered to allocate more money to the bar. I still feel so taken advantage of thinking about it. We ended up DOUBLING the original bar tab and the amount that Melissa suggested would be appropriate, blowing our budget for the party out of the water by almost a thousand dollars.
I sell catering in DC for a living, and I can say with 100% confidence that I don't see the value in Quirk. I received zero compliments on the food and party itself. The rooms are expensive and overpriced for what they are. And worst of all, the staff will make you feel like you are not a priority.
I did reach out to management at Quirk to discuss these issues but they feel like they "did not miss the mark" in any way, even though I, as their client, continue to tell them that they completely did. In my line of work, my clients opinions matter. That is simply not the case at Quirk.

Request pricing
Go to top