Back to The Murphy

The Murphy Reviews

10 reviews
| Chicago, IL See photos, pricing and details
Request pricing
4.8 out of 5.0

Awards

10 Reviews for The Murphy

Featured
User4116321

2+ years ago

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We had a fairytale wedding! The Murphy is an absolutely stunning venue that will leave all of your guests talking. We couldn't have asked for a better contact (Cathy)... She made everything so easy and was always available if we had any questions. If you are looking for a gorgeous and classic Chicago wedding, this is the space you have been dreaming of!

M
Melanie

Married on 08/22/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

This was the best venue ever! It was incredibly unique and the layout is amazing for a wedding around 160 people with a large dance floor area! Our guests were mesmerized by how gorgeous and spacious it was inside and had a blast dancing on the stage, sitting in the wooden thrones, going up to the second level (with auditorium seats). We also had a private suite on the 5th floor which was perfect for us to have a quiet moment together and our wedding party to store their stuff! Would 100% recommend having your wedding at The Murphy.

C
Courtney

Event date: 04/25/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

This was a spectacular place for our reception. There was ample space for dancing, Our 12 piece band, and 170 guests! This historic building was a huge hit for the out of towners and Chicago locals alike. We recommend this venue highly.

V
Virginia

Married on 08/23/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The venue was beautiful and I can't complain about a thing. The staff was very accommodating and professional. Everything went exactly as planned and I couldn't be happier in choosing the murphy for my big day! Just amazing!

N
Nicole

Married on 06/22/2013

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

My husband and I first saw photos of The Murphy on Chicago Wedding Venue's and our hearts dropped. There was no way we could get such a grand and beautiful place for our big day. Thankfully we made an appointment anyway. After a few long days of searching for venues we walked into The Murphy and for the first time throughout the search we both were grinning ear to ear. This was IT, period. The Murphy is magnificent. The space is breath taking. It has been recently restored to its original glory and updated with the modern amenities every good events space needs. It is pristine, artfully maintained, and you can tell someone loves this place and cares for it constantly. From our first conversation until our last with Catherine Carey, the Event Coordinator, she was professional, helpful, knowledgeable and a huge asset to the success of our day. She put us at ease, walked us through the major milestones and provided industry knowledge we never would have known. She is invaluable to The Murphy. The day of our wedding went off without a hitch. Cathy worked with our vendors to ensure that everyone knew their role that day and executed it to perfection. It was a joy to work with everyone at The Murphy. The security staff was fantastic, kind and professional; our restroom attendants kept the rooms clean and came prepared with mints and bobby pins and other MacGyver types of things you need but never have during a formal event. And all of our vendors worked with Cathy and her team to make our day special. Go and look at the space and you will love it. And Cathy and team will do their best to make sure you have everything you need; you are in good hands at The Murphy.

S
Jamie

Married on 05/01/2010

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I absolutely LOVED having my ceremony and reception at the Murphy. Cathy was a dream to work with... Friendly, professional, and very timely with responses. She has also seen tons of weddings, and had great advice about everything - pictures, floral arrangements, vendors, table linens, etc. She was a huge help~!

S
Suzanne

Married on 06/06/2009

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

This venue was spectacular; it FAR exceeded our expectations. Catherine was very prompt in returning emails. They are well organized and will ensure everything is perfect for your wedding day.

A
Alex

Married on 10/29/2011

4.6
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Responsiveness 4.5
  • Flexibility 5.0

We had such a wonderful time at the Murphy auditorium. I heard from many guests how unique and beautiful it was, and the space was perfect for the ceremony, cocktails and reception. Catherine Carey was tremendously patient, helpful and responsive throughout the process and it's my understanding that the vendors found the set-up, etc. Extremely smooth. I can't recommend the site highly enough - if for no other reason than the stunning setting.

D
D

Married on 04/29/2017

4.4
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 3.0

We felt in love with the venue the moment we saw it. It's such an amazing place and has everything you need to host any type of party.. But most importantly.. It's absolutely gorgeous and the staff is wonderful to work with. Our wedding wouldn't have been this special and beautiful if it wasn't for The Murphy.

L
Sara

Married on 06/19/2010

4.1
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 3.5
  • Responsiveness 3.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We had our reception here and from a visual standpoint, nothing can beat the Murphy Auditorium. It is the most gorgeous venue in downtown Chicago (probably in the whole Chicagoland area, but we only looked at downtown). The venue will take your and your guests' breath away. Cathy, the event coordinator is a very sweet woman, but it was sometimes difficult to get a response from her. For example, after sending her the contract and check, we got no response for several weeks - making us very nervous that we didn't have the venue! However, the Murphy has only been open to the public for 3 years, so I think that these are kinks that will worked out with time. It's an expensive venue ($6,000 in 2010) that doesn't include a whole lot (chairs and security), but not any more so than other downtown locations. It's definitely worth the money if you're looking for something to wow your guests and it doesn't require much in the way of decorations.

Request pricing
Go to top