Back to Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago Reviews

19 reviews
| Chicago, IL See photos, pricing and details
Request pricing
4.9 out of 5.0

Awards

19 Reviews for Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

J
Featured
Jill Wilson

Married on 04/26/2019

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Magical evening in iconic space

We selected to have our wedding and reception at the Warwick Allerton after attending a reception there a couple years ago. Since that wedding, they redesigned the Tip Top Tap Ballroom, giving it a lovely, modern, brightening makeover, and the space was beautiful. Stunning views, and overall a tremendous value for the space, location, and food and beverage options and flexibility. For the value, it's a great downtown Chicago location for a wedding best suited for approx 120 guests. They also provide a day-of onsite manager which is a nice value add if you don't plan to hire a planner. Everyone complimented the space, and said the food was delicious, and served hot, big plus! Highly recommend.

Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago's reply:

Dear Jill,
Thank you so much for the kind words! I'm so glad to hear all the compliments from your guests as well.
All the best to you & Allie!
Sincerely,
Casey

A
Ana

Married on 02/25/2017

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The service we received was exceptional from the assistance with event planning and vision-setting right through to execution. While our wedding was on the smaller side, the care that the staff put into the event was still impeccable and their follow-through on accommodating our requests was impressive. The steak was cooked to perfection, we collaborated with Vanille on a special dessert table and had a beautiful view right down Michigan Ave. I would highly recommend!

M
Maureen

Married on 12/10/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

From the "MOTB" perspective, it was a magical day for my daughter, obviously my new son-in-law and all of our guests. Derrick was amazing, going above and beyond at every little point. He took care of details that we were oblivious to until after the big day. We heard so much feedback from our guests who fell in love with him thinking he was "just an employee"of the hotel. This speaks highly of his skills and commitment that the entire event unfold flawlessly at every level. Almost 2 weeks later I am still reliving this beautiful event and forever grateful to Derrick and his team!

S
Silly

Married on 07/02/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

This hotel was a perfect venue for our reception. My husband and I wanted to stay with a more formal, classic Chicago wedding. The Tip Top Tap has amazing history and has a very impressive dinning atmosphere. I could not stop hearing from my guest how impressed they were with the Tip Top Tap. The food was great, my wedding coordinator was AMAZING and really accommodating, especially with being an out of state bride. We were in constant communication and she really made sure I got my moneys worth (down to the last mini burger!)
Of course nothing is perfect, I just wish the hotel didn't have rope and construction around the building. I was under the impression they would be done counting bricks by my wedding date, but if that was the worse part of my day, I'LL TAKE IT!
Overall 5 star because the week I spent at the Warwick Allerton Hotel was incredible.

D
Danda

Married on 07/02/2016

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

This hotel was a perfect venue for our reception. My husband and I wanted to stay with a more formal, classic Chicago wedding. The Tip Top Tap has amazing history and has a very impressive dinning atmosphere. I could not stop hearing from my guest how impressed they were with the Tip Top Tap. The food was great, my wedding coordinator was AMAZING and really accommodating, especially with being an out of state bride. We were in constant communication and she really made sure I got my moneys worth (down to the last mini burger! ) Of course nothing is perfect, I just wish the hotel didn't have rope and construction around the building. I was under the impression they would be done counting bricks by my wedding date, but if that was the worse part of my day, I'LL TAKE IT! Overall 5 star because the week I spent at the Warwick Allerton Hotel was incredible.

User6650566

2+ years ago

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We cannot say enough good things about the Allerton! We recently had our wedding reception there at the Tip Top Tap and it was the most amazing day of our lives. Hannah was exceptional to work with - she was professional, but extremely warm and friendly. She helped make the process fun and as stress free as possible. The food was wonderful, the attention to detail was great, the staff was extremely accommodating and friendly... The venue overall was just incredible. Everything was truly perfect!

User4809398

2+ years ago

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We couldn't have been more pleased with the Allerton for our wedding venue. Beau was absolutely fantastic and was extremely helpful every step of the way. The ceremony and reception were beautiful and all the logistics (food service, etc. ) went so smoothly.

We would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a something outside of the box of a traditional ballroom with a truly city feel.

Kacey
Kacey

Married on 09/26/2015

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The Warwick Allerton was a great place for our urban Chicago wedding with 170 people (I wouldn't do more than that!). Beau, first and foremost, is a dream to work with, as is the rest of the staff. They handled everything up to the wedding day and on the day of beautifully. Beau is insanely responsive and kind and just plain fun to deal with. He eased all of my silly fears and made me feel special, even though I know he had a million other weddings to handle. I must say, I just melted when I saw the room all set up. He added a stage for our band (the Chicago Catz, check them out, they were fabulous) which at first we decided wasn't going to fit. He accommodated my request for black tablecloths without stripes. He added all these extra champagne glasses to display my escort cards, which I know was a huge pain for everyone involved. He made a great signature drink for us, helped us with the welcome bags for the guests, displayed the Garrett's popcorn beautifully... Honestly I can't say enough. The Allerton was perfect... Book it!

M
Melanie

Married on 05/24/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

Beau is absolutely amazing. The entire hotel is top notch, with beautiful finishes. The views from the Tip Top Tap ballroom cannot be beat. Everyone was friendly, and helped us pull off our wedding day without a hitch. I love it, and would recommend it to anyone.

L
Lina

Married on 02/22/2014

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The Allerton hotel tip top tap ballroom is a beautiful venue for wedding ceremony and reception. The food and service is exceptional, and Beau makes the whole process of planning your event easy and fun! Thank you to all the Allerton staff, especially Beau for making our wedding such an incredible evening!

M
Michelle

Married on 09/28/2013

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

We had our wedding reception at the Allerton Hotel in the Tip Top Tap Ballroom. I fell in love upon first viewing. It is a beautiful, classic, & historic l&mark along Michigan Ave with amazing 270 degree views of the Chicago skyline. I love the fresh, modern & contemporary style. I knew guests of all ages would appreciate the decor & feel comfortable staying here. Despite having all of that, another one of the biggest factors in our decision was Sheri, the Allerton's Director of Catering & Events.

She is one of the friendliest & helpful people I have ever worked with. In researching locations you will meet with lots of coordinators & will realize how important it is to get along well with the people at your venue. & since virtually everyone & everything for your wedding has to be coordinated with your venue, having Sheri there made the whole wedding planning process so much easier. I felt comfortable asking her any question & she always had a great answer/opinion.

Sheri was the most gracious host whenever it came to our family, friends, & guests. Even when family traveled into town to help with some of the planning, Sheri went above & beyond expectations with making their stay fantastic. I cannot even begin to count the number of little details that she went out of her way to do for us before, during, & after our wedding.

The wedding went off without a hitch, it was beautiful & beyond my expectations. Sheri & her team kept everything running smoothly. Our guests raved about the food, hotel, & the Tip Top Tap venue. I could go on & on about the food! We are both self-proclaimed foodies & we brought a third to our tasting. We had the hardest time picking our food because it was all superb!

Overall, having our reception at The Allerton was the best choice I could have made & we will always have very fond memories of the wedding as well as of Sheri & everyone else at The Allerton that helped us & our guests!

E
Elizabeth

Married on 04/13/2013

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

I'm writing this review as a Chicago bride who just had her wedding at the Allerton on April 13 (and stayed there for 2 nights). I cannot recommend the Allerton highly enough. In fact, I don't know why someone would choose to get married anywhere else in Chicago. The Tip Top Tap, where we had our ceremony and reception, looked absolutely beautiful on the day of the wedding. The food at the cocktail hour, the reception, and the brunch the following day was amazing--our guests are still raving about it. The service was impeccable. And we were basically treated like royalty. Our rooms were clean and amazingly spacious. We booked the Allerton about 13 months before our wedding, and Beau was our contact. Beau is basically a saint and is always so cheerful and upbeat despite having to deal with (sometimes) demanding brides like myself. He was always extremely helpful and answered questions promptly. If minor issues came up, he was always very quick to address and resolve them. He really went above and beyond to make sure we had a great day, and we absolutely did.

J
Jessica

Married on 09/30/2012

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

You will not be disappointed choosing The Allerton for your venue. The views and banquet rooms are beautiful and fabulous. If you want the heart of the Chicago sky line part of your ceremony this is definitely worth considering. My event coordinator, Beau, was truly fantastic. He offered wonderful choices, answered all my questions in a timely manner and his humorous customer service was icing on the cake. Once on our weekend, the staff made it memorable and special with intimate touches. Our event went off without a hitch and they went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. Thank you all for making our weekend one of the best in our lives. We cannot wait to come back and celebrate our anniversary with you!

K
Kerry

Married on 09/05/2009

5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

When I walked into the Buckingham Ballroom at the Allerton while looking at reception venues for my small (about 85) wedding I knew I found the perfect place! The Allerton is a beautiful hotel! My fiancee first worked with Janet on getting our visit set up and she was very responsive with him. Then I worked with Sheila for the wedding and she was so wonderful! She was on top of everything and kept me on track with letting her know every detail she needed to know to ensure everything went smoothly.

The day before and the day of the wedding Sheila was on top of everything - without even having to come to me! It was so wonderful and carefree (for me!). I could not have asked for a better Event Manager. And I even had compliments from other guests noting how attentive and thorough Sheila was! The food was GREAT! Everyone kept telling me, my husband, and my parents how great the food was and how well prepared.

The only complaint (which is the same as the other reviewer) is the check-in desk personnel. There was one individual that was rude numerous times to my husband - I would have thought that they'd at least be nice to the groom! Other than that, not one single complaint about The Allerton, Janet, or Sheila. They were just perfect!

S
Susan

Married on 12/31/2014

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.5
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.5

Beau went far beyond the duties of a typical hotel event coordinator. He was involved in the planning of our New Year's Eve wedding at the Tip Top Tap every step of the way and my fiance and I (as well as our family and friends) were super impressed with how dedicated he and the rest of the Allerton Staff were. In fact, several of our guests have said it wasthe most fun wedding they have ever been to. Even though the location was absolutely beautiful, I know the people of the Allerton Hotel were even a bigger reason why our wedding was so much fun for everyone.

BrandonandRachel
Rachel

Married on 07/30/2010

4.8
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.5

We held our reception on the 23rd floor at The Allerton Hotel. It was gorgeous! The city was our backdrop and it was just amazing. The guests were treated wonderfully and the staff were prepared and agile to adjust to any last minute needs.

We couldn't ask for a better place to dance the night away. It was a great finale to our wedding day!

Lauren
Lauren

Getting married on 10/05/2019

4.7
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 3.5
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

The ballroom is beautiful (love the big windows, tons of light, and gorgeous views of the lake and the city! ), but the real gem of this venue is Derrick, the senior catering manager! He's so incredibly thoughtful, flexible, and dedicated to helping a couple create the day they want. We had a lot of particular needs around the food part, and Derrick worked tirelessly and quickly with his chef to create a custom menu and set up a sampling session. During the session, he asked great questions and diligently took notes of our feedback. He has years of experience in the industry and can often preempt our concerns/questions, which gave us great confidence in his ability to run the operations of the day.

As if that wasn't enough, Derrick is such a joy to be around! If you ever meet him, you'll notice right away how friendly, sassy, and fashionable he is. We had a laughter-filled time when we sat down with him, and I secretly wish we could be best friends, haha.

Unfortunately due to cultural reasons we didn't end up picking the venue, but we would highly recommend Derrick to all our Chicago friends. If only we could transport him to another venue!

R
Rachael

Married on 01/02/2016

4.6
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 5.0

As an event planner myself, I was totally against having a hotel reception. I didn't want the usual thing, and I didn't want to feel like I was at work. As we started looking for a venue, we knew we wanted a Chicago-vintage theme. My spouse found the Allerton and it was like nothing I had seen before. Vintage, with modern amenities; event staff that felt like family; and for a wedding where 80% of the guests would be from out of town - hundreds of guest rooms for their comfort and convenience. I was won over. And aside from the decision to get married in the first place, the Allerton was the best decision we made. We had our reception at the Allerton on January 2, 2016 and it was amazing! The service was spot-on throughout all of the planning. Beau takes good care of you and your guests. Everyone loved this fantastic Chicago hotel - it's old school with modern upgrades and the views out the great big windows in the ballroom are really incredible. Everyone loved the light flooding in during the day and the night lights of the city later in the evening. We can't say enough good things about the quality of the food. Our guests are still raving about it. We served the Asian short ribs - so delicious. The hotel has a partnership with a local bakery, Bom Bon, and you might be concerned because that's the only choice. Don't be. The options are endless and it is one of the best bakeries in Chicago! We opted for a desserts table instead of a traditional tiered cake and it pleased every guest of every age. The hotel location is perfect - right in the middle of the action, yet still felt very private. Can't say enough positive things about our experience, and that of our guests. I imagine many of them, who were mostly from out of town, will return to stay here on future visits, as will we. Thank you to Beau and the Allerton team. We certainly recommend others check this venue out!

E
Elizabeth

Married on 04/11/2009

4.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Value 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Responsiveness 4.0
  • Flexibility 4.0

The team at the Allerton was great. They were great to deal with throughout the entire experience. My only complaint is the check-in desk personnel. They were aweful to my out of town guests. But Janet and Adrienne are phenomenal and make life for a bride a lot easier!

Request pricing
Go to top